How to Become a Stay-at-Home Mom/Dad in 5 Not at all Easy Steps

Can relate to this now that I’m a stay at home wife and mum to our needy dog…

the self-styled life

I love being a stay-at-home mom. It’s definitely not easy. It’s exhausting, messy, maddening, solitary (and did I say exhausting?). It’s really and truly the most taxing and tiring job I’ve ever done. I am completely wiped out by the time my kid is in bed.

I build elaborate sand structures that get destroyed in a matter of seconds. I spend much of my day building elaborate sand structures that get destroyed in a matter of seconds. And then, you know, cleaning up sand from every inch of my house…

But despite this, I love it.

Many people see this as a luxury–being with my child all day. I realize that in many ways, it is. But what’s implied in this idea of “luxury” is that it’s not an option for the majority of people. I’d like to make the case that it could be.

[I should preface this by saying that I don’t presume to know everyone’s circumstances. I realize that for…

View original post 854 more words

Leave a Reply

